Argument Style

There are three different argument styles today that are commonly used: Classical, Rogerian, and Toulmin.  For gun control, I think that the Rogerian style would be best for a research paper.  This is because not only does it back up the position I take, but it explains how this position benefits all (even opponents).  In a research paper about gun control, I think that it is important to explain how my side will benefit even those against it.  The format of the Rogerian argument style would also flow nicely in a research paper about gun control–first the introduction, which then leads into the context of the situation.  I could talk about the mass shootings that have unfortunately become all to frequent as of late.  Then, this would lead into the writer’s position, my solution to these types of problems.  I would provide evidence for my position, and finally in the end, do what I was talking about earlier, explaining how my position benefits my opponents.  It is for all these reasons that I believe that the Rogerian method would best fit the format of my research paper.

Leave a Reply

